THE
JOKER

WHAT IS THE JOKER?

An agricultural tractor in the Suffolk Punch range. Number 33180/1919. Licence no BJ 4483

The Joker left the factory on July 15th, 1919.

Garretts completed tests for their 5CD steam tractor in 1917 and marketed it as the ‘Suffolk Punch’. The company highlighted the steam tractor’s robust construction, ease of handling and its versatility. It was to be used for ploughing, hauling farming machines and providing power with its belt drive. Its almost unique design placed the driver’s seat at the front.

John Goddard, (left)
the Joker’s first owner

John Goddard, the Joker’s first owner

John Goddard and Son of Tunstall, Suffolk, had ordered this machine in 1917, paying £772. After using it to plough 20 acres in 1919, they reverted to using horses. The Joker was too heavy.

Also, the required space for turning the tractor meant that larger than usual headlands were left around field edges, which still needed to be ploughed by horses. But the Goddards kept their Punch working on the farm for almost 20 years, using it for belt driving.

A reconstruction of a lost final design drawing for the Garrett Type 5CD Tractor

Only 8 of these 5CD steam tractors were made.
The Joker is a unique survival from the steam age.

See how the Joker works

Want to know more about
The Joker?

© The Long Shop Museum 2019

The Long Shop Museum is a charity registered with the Charity Commission for England and Wales.

Registration Number 1167945